Articles by Philippe Jean Poirier

Interview

The Exploratory Meeting – A Tool to Revive Your Job Search

More subtle than sending a resume, the exploratory meeting is a way to open doors to potential employers without necessarily appearing to beg for a job… Let’s see what it is. The exploratory meeting is an informal meeting that is requested with a director, manager or professional of the same hierarchical level, to obtain information […]


Career management

Changing Jobs – Is This the Right Time?

In the age of mobility, workers no longer hesitate to change jobs to get a promotion, a better boss or a higher salary. But do they always choose the right time? Here are some questions to ask before thinking about quitting your job. “Leave or stay” is the question professionals ask who seek the services […]


Company life

How to Overcome Shyness

As a business analyst, daily contact with other people in the company is inevitable, but if you suffer shyness it can be a real ordeal. Psychologist and professional coach Francesca Lungescu gives us her advice to meet the challenge. Dedramatize the situation For a shy person, making contact in person or by telephone is always […]


Career management

From France to Quebec – How to Adapt as a Business Analyst

In France, companies do not manage their IT projects in just the same way as in Quebec. That’s why expatriates who want to become business analysts in Quebec sometimes have trouble positioning themselves. Advice from an expert who made the leap. Let’s begin with the name – business analyst. “In France, it’s a term reserved […]


Jobs search

Job Search – Some Tips to Beat the Competition!

Are you convinced that you are the ideal candidate for the desired position, but you are not the only person being considered? Here are some tips to make an active search and raise you up above the fray. Identify your “unfair advantage” The concept comes from entrepreneurship. To succeed in business, says author and entrepreneur […]


Company life

Business Analyst – How to Say No, Tactfully

Between the company’s needs and the technical abilities of the IT people, the business analyst sometimes has to make choices and announce to one of the teams that, in the end, the project cannot be done… How do you handle the situation without alienating one of the two parties? Business analyst Camille Amathe went through […]


Not to be missed

Become an Opinion Leader as a Business Analyst

For business analysts, positioning yourself and become an opinion leader in your field is a long-term job… that can pay off! Steps to take. First of all, let’s point out that the Francophone internet is not overcrowded with people trying to fill the niche of benchmark business analyst. A simple Google search only shows 1 or […]


Career management

How to Resign Without Closing Doors

In the IT field, changing employers regularly lets you climb the hierarchy and pay scale faster. But since it’s a small world, how do you resign with class, and without closing doors? “Due to the shortage of manpower, people who work in IT currently have the big end of the stick… So I’m not sure […]


Resume

How to Write a Good Approach Message for a Part-Time Job?

Are you interested in a part-time job? How do you write your covering letter and approach message to land the job? Should you explain your approach? Your obligations? First of all, remember that the CV and covering letter are not so much intended to get a job as to convince the employer to call you […]


Jobs search

Dare to apply without having all the qualifications !

Employers are increasingly demanding with regards to the skills of administrative employees. However, it is quite rare for a candidate to have all the requirements. Here are some tips of what to emphasize when you decide to apply without having all the qualifications. Zaïda B. Mangones, employability consultant at the Club de recherche d’emploi de […]


Not to be missed

The Key Skills of a Good Business Analyst

The business analyst plays a central role in an organization. He usually acts as a liaison between the various stakeholders in the business. What key skills are necessary to be a good business analyst? “As a business analyst, we often find ourselves between the hammer and the anvil! The hammer is upper management, and the […]


Company life

How to Handle Pressure as a Business Analyst?

The role of business analyst is essential in a business. Yet not everyone recognizes the value. How to handle pressure as a business analyst in a sometimes hostile environment? “Management is always under pressure,” notes Geneviève Dubé, business analyst. “They want to reduce delivery times, reduce costs… They are therefore not always ready to invest […]


Jobs.ca network

#

Articles par Philippe Jean Poirier

Vie d’entreprise

Comment surmonter sa timidité?

Lorsque l’on est analyste d’affaires, le contact quotidien avec d’autres personnes de l’entreprise est inévitable, mais lorsqu’on souffre de timidité, cela peut constituer une véritable épreuve. La psychologue et coach professionnelle Francesca Lungescu nous donne ses conseils pour relever le défi. Dédramatiser la situation Pour une personne timide, établir un contact en personne ou téléphonique […]


Gestion de carrière

De la France au Québec : comment s’adapter en tant qu’analyste d’affaires ?

En France, les entreprises ne gèrent pas leur projet TI exactement de la même manière qu’au Québec. C’est pourquoi les expatriés désirant devenir analystes d’affaires au Québec ont parfois du mal à se positionner. Conseils d’une experte qui a fait le saut. Commençons par le nom : analyste d’affaires. « En France, c’est un terme […]


Vie d’entreprise

Analyste d’affaires : comment dire non avec tact ?

Entre les besoins de l’entreprise et les possibilités techniques des TI, l’analyste d’affaires doit parfois faire des choix et annoncer à l’une des équipes que le projet ne pourra pas se faire, en fin de compte… Comment gérer la situation sans se mettre à dos l’une des deux parties ? L’analyste d’affaires Camille Amathe a […]


À ne pas manquer

Devenir leader d’opinion en tant qu’analyste d’affaires

Pour les analystes d’affaires, se positionner comme un leader d’opinion dans son domaine est un travail de longue haleine… qui peut être payant ! Marche à suivre. Tout d’abord, signalons qu’on ne se bouscule pas sur le web francophone pour occuper le créneau d’analyste d’affaires de référence. Par une simple recherche Google, on se rend […]


Gestion de carrière

Comment démissionner sans se fermer de portes

Dans le domaine des TI, changer régulièrement d’employeur permet de grimper plus rapidement dans la hiérarchie et l’échelle salariale. Mais comme ce monde est petit, comment démissionner avec classe, et sans se fermer de portes ? « En raison de la pénurie de main-d’œuvre, les gens qui travaillent en TI ont actuellement le gros bout […]


À ne pas manquer

Les compétences-clés pour être un bon analyste d’affaires

L’analyste d’affaires joue un rôle central dans une organisation. Il agit généralement comme un agent de liaison entre les différentes parties prenantes dans l’entreprise. Quelles compétences-clés doit-on posséder pour être un bon analyste d’affaires ? « Quand on est analyste d’affaires, on se retrouve bien souvent entre le marteau et l’enclume ! Le marteau, c’est […]


Recherche d’emplois

Osez postuler sans avoir toutes les qualifications !

Les employeurs sont de plus en plus exigeants en ce qui concerne les compétences des employés en administration. Or, il est assez rare qu’un candidat possède la totalité des exigences. Voici quelques astuces pour se mettre en valeur quand on décide de postuler sans avoir toutes les qualifications. Zaïda B. Mangones, conseillère en employabilité au […]


Vie d’entreprise

Comment gérer la pression en tant qu’analyste d’affaires?

Le rôle d’analyste d’affaires est essentiel dans une entreprise. Pourtant, tous n’en reconnaissent pas la valeur. Comment gérer la pression en tant qu’analyste d’affaires dans un milieu qui s’avère parfois hostile ? « La direction est toujours pressée, constate Geneviève Dubé, analyste d’affaires. Elle veut réduire les délais, réduire les coûts… Elle n’est donc pas […]


Vie d’entreprise

l’analyste d’affaires et ses collaborateurs 

Entre les clients externes, internes, le département des TI et la direction, l’analyste d’affaires doit pouvoir adapter sa communication à son interlocuteur. Voici nos conseils pour développer cette aptitude. « Je suis un peu comme une “psy”, lance Geneviève Dubé, analyste d’affaires. Je suis là pour écouter les employés, mais aussi pour les faire parler. Je […]


Réseau d'emplois Jobs.ca

#